Another iPhoneography tool I stumbled upon the other day is Hipstamatic. Very interesting. Available in the App Store for $1.99. The basics are the classic Hipstamatic camera, three flash types (standard, dreampop, and cherry shine), four different lenses from which to choose (John S, Jimmy, Kaimal Mark II, and Buckhorst H1), and three different kinds of film rolls (Blanko, Ina’s 1969, and Kodot XGrizzled). There are eight additional HipstaPaks currently available, some limited edition (GoodPaks), and even a few FreePaks, which provide even MORE film types and lenses to experiment with. One of the most incredible features is that your prints can actually be printed in the Hipstamatic lab and mailed to you. There is even an ever-changing field guide, which is contributed to by fellow Hipstas. Definitely worth investigating, if you have an iPhone or a camera-enabled iPod, and you enjoy creative, photographic experimentations or sharing your fun photos with others.

I took this image with my 4th generation iPod using the standard equipment that comes with Hipstamatic: Jimmy lens, Kodot XGrizzled film, and the flash was off. I then edited it in Photoshop to eliminate a bit of the yellow and to add more contrast [second photo].

Since the iPod is not equipped with a macro lens, I was pleasantly surprised to get this much clarity in the image. Although I may regret it, my macro lens from Photojojo is in the mail to me. It is meant for an iPhone, but I am assuming it will work for an iPod, too. After I placed my order, I came to the realization that maybe I could take my shot through a DSLR macro lens I already have for my Canon G12. Not sure of the logistics with that; will most likely need a tripod…and maybe another hand…

More photos to come, as I conduct my experiments.

