As with anything we are novices at, repeated practice hopefully improves our procedures to craft whatever it is we are working on at the time. Sort of a vague statement, but at the beginning I was totally intimidated by texture layers. I have grown more and more at ease with them, having sat in front of my monitor hours on end, astonished that over two hours has already gone by in one sitting. I had received a health bulletin in the mail, reiterating the importance of exercise for a healthier old age. Somehow I will work out my time. For now I am having WAY too much fun, sitting there, basking in my computer’s glow, imagining what may be. The master of creation.

This photo was taken in my living room, with the sun streaming through lace curtains at the window. The flowers in the glass vase are my own from the garden…beautiful, pink roses and lusciously fragrant peonies. No ordinary peony either; this plant was purchased at a local garden nursery, specializing in quite the assortment of rare and unusual species of plants. In fact my hangout during the warm months, when I scour the nurseries for that new, unusual specimen I will adopt and take home to place in my garden…and of course photograph.

The color photo of this still life was very pretty, but as I have realized, when some people look at photographs and exclaim they could have taken that photo themselves, adding texture to your photos will not only elevate them to “art”, but also make them even more special to you. They become the product of your hands, as you imbue them with a beauty they would never have possessed, had it not been for you. (Let’s not get TOO carried away here…) It is much like the painter, who takes up his brush and paints and creates something from nothing. In this case, however, you are given a head start in that the Lord created it and you are just enhancing it. As I added layer upon layer of texture, a deeper image evolved, and with each layer’s addition, I became more and more amazed at the power of texture. For instance, the bottom of the vase took on a whole new appearance, almost ghost-like and ethereal.

So here I present to you “fragrance {no.4”, which yes, does have predecessors, but this version is the dearest one of all.

